Contact us
Student Life

Hospitality Career Day

Career Day for our students is held annually by SWISSAM's Academic Department. The event attracts a considerable number of representatives from the city's Hospitality Industry.  Recruitment specialists and the heads of HoReCa enterprises provide information on internship opportunities and currently available vacancies. Prospective candidates meet their potential employers directly in SWISSAM's campus. 

Nadezhda Chaschina, Executive Director at the "Nevsky Forum" hotel:

- As the hotel's representative, how would you describe the right candidate for your company? 

We would characterize our prospective candidate as extrovert. Usually, we give preference to people with shining eyes, that is really important. We believe that in the field of services without a true desire to treat a guest, things are unpleasant for both the guest and the employee. Education in hospitality or hotel work expirience are advantageous. Fluent English level and  getting your bearings in the city are essential. We feel that it's possible to teach anyone, but if they don't have an intention to learn, unfortunately, they won't succeed. Keeping calm under pressure is also a significant factor in the recruitment of candidates seeing as how there are many kinds of guests and it's difficult to predict every situation; everything comes with experience. In our turn, we guarantee a competitive salary, bonuses, a friendly work environment and opportunities for career growth.

In your opinion, what's more important: an education in hospitality management or work experience in the industry?

Actually, this depends on the company's policy. Some employers recruit graduates from educational institutions and train them, at discretion. Other companies are searching for highly qualified and experienced candidates. As for us, work experience in the hotel business is an advantageIf our candidate has a good idea of what the job is, he is more likely to have made a conscious choice. Besides, we can contact the previous employers for getting their feedbacks or request a letter of recommendation. Futhermore, considering the small size of the hotel, we have very little room for mistakes. An education in hospitality management is also definitely an advantage. It seems to me that Career Day is an excellent opportunity for students and employers to find each other. Once again, anyone can be taught if they're willing to learn and the employer is willing to train its personnel as well as improve its proficiency level and share their experience.

Задать вопрос
Студенческая жизнь

День Карьеры в Индустрии Гостеприимства

Ежегодно для студентов бизнес-школы учебный отдел организует День Карьеры. Мероприятие привлекает значительное количество представителей Индустрии Гостеприимства города. Специалисты по работе с персоналом, а также руководители предприятий сферы HoReCa рассказывают о вакансиях, а также  возможностях прохождения стажировок. Работодатели и потенциальные кандидаты встречаются прямо на территории института.

Надежда Чащина, исполнительный директор отеля «Невский Форум» :

- Будучи представителем отеля, охарактеризуйте потенциального кандидата в вашу компанию.
 
Потенциального кандидата в отель «Невский Форум» мы бы охарактеризовали так: экстраверт, отдаем предпочтение людям, у которых горят глаза, это очень важно! Так как в сфере услуг без неподдельного желания помочь гостю, будет тяжело и гостю и сотруднику. Желательно профильное образование или опыт работы в отеле. Обязательное владение английским языком и знание города. Мы считаем, что научить можно любого человека, но если у него нет желания, то, к сожалению, ничего не получится. Стрессоустойчивость тоже немаловажный критерий отбора потенциального кандидата, т.к. гости бывают разные и все ситуации предугадать сложно, все приходит с опытом. В свою очередь мы предлагаем конкурентоспособную заработную плату, систему бонусов, дружный коллектив и возможности для карьерного роста.

- По вашему мнению, что наиболее важно: профильное образование или опыт работы в индустрии?

На самом деле все зависит от политики компании: кто-то набирает сотрудников после института и учит «под себя», а кто-то ищет людей уже готовых к работе с определенным набором умений и навыков. Для нас опыт работы в гостиничном бизнесе – это плюс. У человека есть уже представления о работе, больше вероятность того, что выбор кандидата является осознанным, есть возможность получить рекомендации коллег с предыдущего места работы. К тому же, учитывая небольшой формат отеля, у нас меньше права на ошибку. Однако это не означает, что мы не рассматриваем кандидатов без опыта работы. Профильное образование –  это также несомненный плюс. Мне кажется, что День Карьеры – это отличная возможность и для студентов и для работодателей найти друг друга. Еще раз повторюсь, что научить можно каждого, было бы желание учиться и у работодателя –  учить, тренировать свои кадры, повышать их квалификацию и делиться опытом.